Rob Taylor (Barnsley Pitbull)

 
 
Hometown: Royston, Barnsley, UK
DOB: May 1987
Height: 5ft 6
Contest weight: 220lbs, but will be more as I have no weight cap
Off-Season weight: 260-270lbs
Occupation: Gym owner, owner of multiple businesses, property developer, online coach
Residence: UK

About me:
I am a husband and a father of 2 beautiful children. My reputation and my word is everything I stand for in this world. I’m a firm believer that hard work will eventually be rewarded. I started competitive bodybuilding late, at the age of 27. I am a 4 x British champion in several weight classes and have won several Overalls and international shows. I turned pro in 2019, after winning the 2Bros British title and the Overall, and did my first pro show in the Open Class in Alicante, Spain, in August 2021.

Nutrition principles:
Eat the basic clean food that has worked for years and aim to prioritise your nutrition around your workouts.

Training principles:
Train fast, aggressive and heavy, with short rest periods. I train with weights twice a day and make sure my recovery is on point to compensate the output.

Current goals (business/training/personal):
In terms of business goals, I have a burger cafe named after my kids. The aim is to open several locations worldwide. I also want to continue to grow my fitness centre brand, The Muscle Unit and continue to progress as a pro athlete. In terms of training, my goal is to keep progressing at the current rate I’m doing. In terms of personal goals - to continue to be the best role model to my kids and give them everything they deserve in life.

My motivation:
My motivation is my children. Everything I do in life is for them.

Favourite body part:
Legs. They are my most dominant body part and the body part that I’m known for.

Favourite prep meal:
Baby rice in the freezer

Favourite cheat meal:
Burger or sushi

Career highlights:
Turning pro in front of all my friends and family 2019

Qualifications:
Fully qualified master builder

Specialities:
Property development

Favourite quote:
“Time waits for no man”.

How did you get into fitness and competing?
Fitness is in my blood. I come from a very sporty background - although no one in my family is a bodybuilder - the competitive edge is in my blood. I came out of prison in 2013, gave bodybuilding a shot, and never looked back. It gave me discipline and focus, and helped me level up in all aspects of my life.

How do you balance your social life and fitness life?
Off-season, I train hard, but if I want to eat out with my family, I do, so it doesn’t affect me at all. I know with the intensity I train at, I can enjoy a normal life and make progress.

Pre-contest, this time I’ve decided to move to Dubai to treat this as a training camp, so everything is regimental. This is a job/career to me, and I will do all I can to be the best I can be.
 

Meet our other athletes