Darren Farrell

 
 
Hometown: Cork, Ireland
DOB: August 1988
Height: 5ft 11 (180cm)
Contest weight: 222lbs
Occupation: Online coach
Residence: Dubai

About me:
I started bodybuilding at the age of 23 after a career-ending professional sport injury. I turned pro in 2019 in the Classic Physique division, winning the Overall in New Zealand. My livelihood revolves around fitness and nutrition alongside my wife, Becky, who also competes and is an online coach. We’ve lived in Dubai since 2016.

Nutrition principles:
Basic and consistent, no magic to it, and don’t starve.

Training principles:
Execute the basics correctly. My regimen includes volume training and progressive overload.

Current goals (business/training/personal):
I’m not money motivated. I just want to become a well-respected coach, train and do what I love while providing for my family. Competitively, I want to achieve a top 3 at a pro show, and in the longer-term, step on stage at the Olympia.

My motivation:
I am my motivation. I have overcome a lot, including battling depression, to get where I am today. Every day that I’m able to do what I’m doing I see as a blessing.

Favourite body part:
Legs. When I started out I had tiny legs so, I’ve made it my mission to build an impressive set of wheels.

Favourite prep meal:
Salmon and rice (or cream of rice)

Favourite cheat meal:
Sushi

Career highlights:
Turning pro in New Zealand in 2019

Qualifications:
BA in Economics, Masters in International Business, Masters in Sports Nutrition

Specialities:
Nutrition

Favourite quote:
“Live the life you love. Love the life you live”. I have this tattooed on my wrist.

How did you get into fitness and competing?
I have always played sport as both my parents were professional athletes. Sport was my life and I played professional football until U14, and hockey and rugby at the highest level. When I suffered my career ending sport injury I discovered bodybuilding while in rehab at the gym.

How do you balance your social life and fitness life?
I look at it very simply. I train, eat my meals and don’t think about it other than that so the rest of my time I put into working with clients and relaxing with my wife and friends. I generally have an off-plan meal once a week and go out for shisha regularly.
 

Meet our other athletes